Conference Program and Registration

2020 Conference Program (Tentative)


Time                                Schedule


Feb 12, Wednesday        For  Postgraduate Research Students and Early Career Scholars


  1.30-3.00pm                 Navigating the Early Career Research Landscape (1)

  3.30-5.00pm                Reverse-Engineering a Journal Article (2)

  5.15-7.15pm                    Welcome Reception and Registration (ALL WELCOME)


Feb 13, Thursday


  8.00-8.50am                 Registration

  9.00-9.15am                  Welcome and introduction

  9.15-10.30am                 UWA Public Policy Institute-Sponsored Opening Plenary Session

  10.30-10.45am              Coffee/tea break

  10.45-12.30pm              Concurrent panel sessions (Sessions 1-3)

  12.30-1.30pm                 Lunch break

  1.45-3.30pm                   Concurrent panel sessions (Sessions 4-6)

  3.30-3.45pm                  Coffee/tea break

  3.45-5.30pm                  Concurrent panel sessions (Sessions 7-9)

  6.00-8.00pm                Conference Dinner

Feb 14, Friday


  9.00-10.30am                Roundtable on pedagogical issues in public policy

  10.30-10.45am               Coffee/tea break

  10.45-12.30pm                Concurrent panel sessions (Sessions 10-13) 

  12.30-1.30pm                  Lunch break

  1.45-3.30pm                    Concurrent panel sessions (Sessions 14-16)

  3.30-3.45pm                   Coffee/tea break

  3.45-5.30pm                   Concurrent panel sessions (Sessions 17-19)

  5.30-6.30pm                   Wrap-up and AP-PPN Organization Meeting (ALL WELCOME TO JOIN)

(1) Registration is capped at 30: on a first-come, first-served basis. In this session, Dr. Glenn Savage and Dr. Kelly Gerard will explore the various challenges, possibilities and frustrations facing early career researchers as they seek to navigate the complex terrain of research and academia in Australia and beyond. Based on their journeys from being postgraduate students through to receiving Australian Research Council ‘Discovery Early Career Researcher Awards’ (DECRAs), Glenn and Kelly will reflect on the highs and lows of grant writing, the challenge of crafting a coherent and strategic research agenda, and the importance of being proactive in seeking funding and other research opportunities. They will also discuss how they negotiated their careers in a highly competitive job environment and the importance of building and sustaining collegial and supportive workplaces.


(2) Reverse-Engineering a Journal Article (Note: Registrations are capped at 30; on a first-come, first-served basis)

It can be daunting to make the leap from reading journal articles to writing journal articles. In this workshop, we deconstruct the process to follow what others have already done. Reverse engineering involves working out how somebody else built a product so that you can do it too. To this workshop, you should bring an article that you are currently working on (or an idea for one you plan to write) AND an article on a similar topic or with a similar methodology from the journal to which you intend to submit. The workshop will involve exercises to map out the structure of your new article and consider what else you need to do to make it a success.


The workshop will be led by Dr. Katie Attwell from Political Science and International Relations, School of Social Sciences, UWA. Dr. Attwell has published 21 articles since 2015, the majority as lead author in high-quality journals. Other workshop facilitators will be senior scholars in the field.

Conference Registration


Registration Fee (including AP-PPN membership and GST):


      · Early bird rate (Before Jan 10, 2020): AUD220

      · Regular rate (Before Jan 31, 2020): AUD330

      · Doctoral students, postgraduates, independent scholars, and part-time faculty: AUD150

      · On-site rate (After Jan 31, 2020): AUD450

2020 AP-PPN Conference Committee

Jeannette Taylor - University of Western Australia - 

Katie Attwell - University of Western Australia

Kelly Gerard - University of Western Australia

Glenn Savage - University of Western Australia

Alka Sabharwal - University of Western Australia

Shamit Saggar - University of Western Australia